2010 Uncle Popov Top 23 – Week One

Yeah, it is back!  Although, I have decided to ditch the voters.  What do they know?  Besides, I then have to wait for people to turn in their votes and sometimes they would not do so and we’d have three voters.  It was fun…but college football and polls are no laughing matter!

And, then there is accountability.  Why did this person vote TCU number one?  No, fuck that!

So, I have devised my own formula to determine my rankings.  I used winning percentage, winning percentage of the opponents faced, point differential, opponent’s average point differential, and weights for offensive and defensive production.  How did I input all of those?  That’s my secret!  How often do voters in the coaches’ poll provide the rationale of voting Oregon number one?  What computer nerd tells you what faulty formula they use.

No, no.  I am not telling.  In fact, I will tell you right now — I want the formula to be a mystery because the polls are all mysteries to begin with.  All are arbitrary and opinion-driven and therefore not completely rooted in fact and reality.  So, I am telling you straight up — the Uncle Popov poll is rooted in my own construction of football reality and what we here believe determines who is the best team.  Polls are simply social constructions and this one is no different.  Ergo, I am not going to mislead you into believing that this poll is “natural,” like the BCS rankings or the USA Today Polls lead you to believe.

By the way, why does anyone care about the AP Poll?

So, we will determine our own number one.  And, in the end, we will declare an Uncle Popov National Champion of Corporate College Football!

Now, without further ado, here is the first installment of the Uncle Popov Top 23.  Why 23?  Shouldn’t you be asking “why 25”?

  1. Oregon
  2. TCU
  3. Ohio State
  4. Boise State
  5. Auburn
  6. Iowa
  7. Alabama
  8. Arizona
  9. Utah
  10. Stanford
  11. Oklahoma
  12. Arkansas
  13. Missouri
  14. Florida State
  15. Nebraska
  16. Texas A&M
  17. Virginia Tech
  18. Miami (FL)
  19. Oklahoma State
  20. South Carolina
  21. Mississippi State
  22. Hawai’i
  23. Pittsburgh

Don’t question it!  Print it!!!

Leave a Reply

